Meet Ireland’s harp makers

The resurgence of interest in harp -playing has led to an unprecedented demand for Irish-made harps. While the numbers of Irish harp makers are slowly increasing, the supply of harps is insufficient to meet this demand; an issue that  was highlighted by Toner Quinn in his report to the Arts Council, An Chomhairle Ealaíon, A Report on the Harping Tradition in Ireland (2014).

In her subsequent 2016 report on harp making in Ireland, Emer Mayhock, Traditional Arts Adviser to the Arts Council noted that harp makers operating in Ireland are doing so in an isolated manner with little outside support.  Cruit Éireann, Harp Ireland is determined to support the Irish harp-making tradition to secure its future, and will work with Irish harp makers to promote their instruments.

 

Harp makers

Brian Callan, Callan Harps Co. Galway www.callanharps.com www.facebook.com/callanharps

Davy Patton, Co. Roscommon www.davypatton.com

Jan Muyllaert, Navan, Co. Meath www.irishharps.net

Mervyn Waugh, Turmennan Harps Co. Down www.turmennanharps.com

Natalie Surina, Ériú Harps Co. Galway www.eriuharps.com www.facebook.com/eriuharps

Pat Cawley & Indra Karklas Indra’s Celtic Harps Co. Westmeath www.irishcelticharps.com

Paul Dooley, Co. Clare www.pauldooley.com

Paul Doyle Galway www.pauldoyleinstruments.com

Gerard Doheny, Co Laois www.irishcraftedinstruments.com

Ruairí McCann Narrow Water Harps Co. Louth http://mccannruairi.wixsite.com /narrow-water-harps

Tim O’Carroll Killarney Harps Co. Kerry www.killarneyharps.com

Tomás MacUileagóid Eala Harps Dublin https://www.facebook.com/Eala

Seán Smyth, Dublin

 

If you are a harp maker and wish to be added to our listing, please fill out the form below

Harp Makers Contact Form